Hill School opened in 1926 with five students in an upstairs room in what was then the Middleburg Bank (now the Home Farm Store) at 1 East Washington Street. In 1928, the school moved to a half acre of land at its current location.
Over the next sixty-three years (1928-1991) the school’s enrollment and campus steadily grew. In 1991, the enrollment was 178 and the 4.5 acre campus consisted of five buildings, one playing field, and a faculty house.
In 1991 and 1992, Mr. Stephen C. Clark Jr. and his daughter, Hill alumna Jane Forbes Clark, presented the school with a magnanimous and transformative gift of 133 acres, three houses, and a barn. Their generosity and vision enabled the Board of Trustees and school leadership to develop and execute a comprehensive master plan (see “Our Campus”).
Since its founding in 1926, Hill has had just eight Heads of School, two of whom (Lillie James 1931-1951 and Tom Northrup 1981-2010) served for twenty years or more. Treavor Lord, appointed Head in 2010, has been a teacher and administrator at Hill since 1990.
Throughout its history, Hill has maintained its commitment to providing an excellent education for every child as well as its strong sense of community.
Hill’s campus retains the feel of a much smaller school because that has been an enduring value: to provide an educational community where students are the center of attention. The buildings and grounds allow the children the space and resources they need to read and write, to engage in scientific and mathematical explorations, to tap their creative energies, to exert themselves to their personal best. The physical layout of the school is a clear reflection of the school’s philosophy of education, reflecting what we believe students need to learn and grow strong and happy.
Hunt Lyman, Academic Dean